Kristina Edström

Kristina Edström is a professor of inorganic chemistry at Uppsala University Sweden. She has a passion for research on energy storage solutions such as of Li-ion batteries, Na-ion batteries, solid-state batteries. 3D microbatteries, and other beyond lithium battery chemistries such as lithium-sulfur and lithium-oxygen batteries. Kristina Edström has a particular interest in studying interfaces between materials and components in batteries and she has developed different in situ and operando techniques. Kristina Edström leads the Ångström Advanced Battery Centre (ÅABC) with 70-80 coworkers. She has published more than 260 scientific papers and she has an H-index of 59. She is an elected member of the Royal Academy of Engineering Sciences, honorary doctor at NTNU in Norway, she has received the grand prize from KTH, and since 2019 she is a Wallenberg Scholar. She is coordinating the large-scale European battery research initiative BATTERY 2030+ formulating the long-term research roadmap for European batteries fit for purpose. She is scientific coordinator of the Swedish Battery Excellence Competence Center and trustee of the board of Faraday Initiative UK.